Cocktail Preview of the Unique Chronometre Royal (& more)

Firstly, let me say that I'm glad that I postponed an appointment to attend the preview of the unique Chronometre Royal for Kidz Horizon last evening at the local VC boutique. 


Guests got to meet Ms Ellen Sorensen, VC MD (S E Asia), whom I had the honour of sitting beside with during the casual dinner after the cocktail.  Dr Caroline Low-Heah (right), Chairperson of Kidz Horizon Appeal, passionately shared about the cause of the organisation.  Applause for Kidz Horizon Appeal for helping young children with cancer.   

Cocktail Preview of the Unique Chronometre Royal (& more)


The very elegant Watch itself.  The photo doesn't do justice to the lively enamel dial. 

Cocktail Preview of the Unique Chronometre Royal (& more)


A thoughtful feature to attribute the Watch for the Kidz Horizon.

Cocktail Preview of the Unique Chronometre Royal (& more)


But that's not all for the event.  Far from it.  Guests were treated to a case of movements and a watchmaker was at hand to share more about the movements.  Cool!

Cocktail Preview of the Unique Chronometre Royal (& more)


The one I liked best.  Amazing.

Cocktail Preview of the Unique Chronometre Royal (& more)


We can see how pleased the guests were having to appreciate the fine movements.  Of course, the champagne helped.  One of them expressed a deep desire to bid for the Watch.  Well done!

Cocktail Preview of the Unique Chronometre Royal (& more)


Five of us were sitting together, but there were seven watches.  Hmmm...

Cocktail Preview of the Unique Chronometre Royal (& more)


And wow, there was even an ad-hoc evaluation service of our watches.  The very attentive VC boutique manager, Ms Jaslyn Tan, took good care of the guests. 

Cocktail Preview of the Unique Chronometre Royal (& more)

And so, it was an enjoyable and meaningful evening of appreciating charitable work, fine watches, movements, the company of friends (new and old) and good food.  Thank you, VC.
This pieces just stunning
08/14/2013 - 06:57
Thanks for showing a live scan. All the best for a successful auction. Best, Joe
THanks for these pics. Always love to see pics of the VC boutique
08/14/2013 - 08:12
In SIngapore at MBS. I always make it a point to visit the boutique when I am in Singapore.
Let us know when you coming again &
08/15/2013 - 18:47
we can visit the VC boutique @MBS together. But my experience is one tends to find it a bit hard to leave with some many watches to view, not to mention the engaging staff :) Melvin
the Kidz Horizon Chronometre Royal is stunning!! Thanks for
08/14/2013 - 13:55
sharing and good to see the SG gang wink I like the group watch shot, I recognize the first 4 from the left!
Really enjoyed the evening with the VC staff and my dear SG VC friends
08/14/2013 - 14:37
Thanks for sharing Melvin! It was indeed a great evening, to learn about the great man Duncan Wang and his watches. The unique Chronometre Royal for Kidz Horizon is truly stunning with that super nice blue enamel dial! You have to see it in the flesh. We struggled to take good pictures of it (Kheng and I used two LED lamps from our smartphones to shine for Melvin to take that macro shot). I brought my Mont Blanc Villeret along with my VC Patrimony last night (Alex is so good at spotting our watches now!). Compared the enamel dial of my MB Villeret (black) with the Unique Chronometre Royal (blue) and both are gorgeous. I love these colored enamel dials, their gleam and their depths. Also took the chance to compare the MB Villeret Minerva chronograph movement with the highly finished VC lemania-based chronograph (see photos). BOTH are beautiful!! The VC staff were very friendly as usually, esp Christine and Jaslyn. Thank you all for hosting us. Finally, we had a great time with Ellen, some friends and Caroline during the informal dinner, discussing health topics (Caroline talked about fatty liver which really scares me now!), watches (of course!) and golf (I am making it public here that Kheng has agreed to make me his golf disciple). Looking forward to meeting more VC fans in HK soon! cheers robin wong
Thanks Melvin for the post and Robin for the additional shots
08/15/2013 - 00:36
It seems that it was a very enjoyable evening. That watch is gorgeous, thank you for posting 'real-life' pictures - I'm convinced that it will be a successful auction.  I also love the box of movements, being able to see them in the acrylic cases - I've been trying to convince Alex (without success) to sell me a 4400, it would look awesome on my deskcheeky Thanks for the report! Cheers,  Francois
Pleasure. Especially for an event of such noble cause
08/15/2013 - 18:43
:) Melvin
Re: Pleasure. Especially for an event of such noble cause
08/16/2013 - 12:08
I had a very enjoyable time there. Many thanks to Melvin for the pics; Kheng and Robin for the great conversation; and Rllen who hosted the after-cocktail dinner..!
welcome to the Lounge. good to see you here :-)
08/16/2013 - 12:54
r
welcome to the lounge Justin
08/17/2013 - 05:58
We will meet again soon :)
Welcome "back"
08/17/2013 - 14:16
Look forward to see your VC pocket watch(es). Melvin
Good quality time...
08/16/2013 - 13:12
Melvin - thanks for adding us to the guest list and sharing moments of this special evening. It would have been a delight to have heard Dr Caroline Low-Heah talk about the wonderful work that is undertaken by Kidz Horizon. With Champagne and seven watches tohand I'm confident a good time was had by all. Best wishes Tony