For the first time in all years, I'll ask you of an opinion!

Since I nearly always buy vintage and seldom new VC's, I have come to a dilemma.

I been offered some brand new watches and wonder which you think is the right choice.

First when I'm outside working at my estate, whith chainsaw or axe or what ever,
I use this watch..

For the first time in all years, I'll ask you of an opinion!

It doesn't matter if it will be spoiled, perhaps a little, since I had it fors 30 years !
Anyway I had this, before I gave it to my son, and It could take everything!

For the first time in all years, I'll ask you of an opinion!

Now I have this as a possibility

For the first time in all years, I'll ask you of an opinion!

or these

For the first time in all years, I'll ask you of an opinion!

For the first time in all years, I'll ask you of an opinion!

or this one ...

For the first time in all years, I'll ask you of an opinion!

My thoughts, take them for what they are, I'm a slightly old man,
who to cover his body, which is not is as beautiful as before For the first time in all years, I'll ask you of an opinion! , 
in exclusive clothes, bespoked suits ertc..
Rember Marcello Mastroianni?, well he was a famous Italian actor in the 50's and 60's,
made 100 films, 
anyway someone asked him why he never wore jeans, this probaly in the 60's,
and he answered : " Because at my age you don't get the ass for it!".

Everything has it's time, I mean when you look like my son on vacation
For the first time in all years, I'll ask you of an opinion!

you can wear anything For the first time in all years, I'll ask you of an opinion!

I can't.

I think I would today be to careful, even though I not want to,  even with the OS..

OTH the Patrimony slips easy under my, I hate this word, 'French Cuffs', 
since I nearly always wear buttons.

Finally I like to have date on a watch, but personally I think it spoils the dial in this version.

My thoughts.

Please give me yours, before I go shopping.

Re: For the first time in all years, I'll ask you of an opinion!
10/18/2009 - 17:01
Go for the Patrimony with date. I have the WG version (since March) and think it is the best! Suit, jeans, whatever - all round classic.
Wellcome hewitgar!
10/18/2009 - 17:45
Nice to meet you and hope to see many posts from you in the future I especially like men who don't hesitate on the trigger, as the old hunter I am ( was )  Thanks for your valuable points, which will definitely be added to my decision! Tell you one thing, if I had listened around before I bought this one, I never had done it.. Still it's one of the most balanced watches in modern time in my opinion, and I guarantee that in 5 years time this watch will be overpriced! Thanks my new friend Doc
i believe u. this one u have is one of the nicest in the malte range..
10/19/2009 - 07:44
which was unfortunately discontinued. wonder how is VC going to outdo themselves in the range outcoming, if any? as for your seek for opinion, among the few u listed. i actually like the overseas, in steel , with date , guilloche dial as i believe u already have many dress watches under yr cuffs. don a pair of nice jeans if u need to, jeans do good for mature men, from a person in the garment industry and u are in the sweetest time of yr life and can wear whatever u want. the date at 12 for a sport watch doesn't look inadequate and u have a handsome son in the military to takeover if u don't like it as a no-lose prosposal. listen to yr inner voice which have done u well. such intuition doesn't come cheap, but with experience.
Aaron or rather Alex, I have question..
10/19/2009 - 12:37
If as Aaroon says, the Malte line is cut, VC is doing just what they promised, all years, and even the CEO of today, that VC always keep a model for at least 10 years.. Doc
yup the round Malte models are being phased out and I believe the Dual
10/19/2009 - 13:22
Time Regulator is living its last months.
What about the Malte Chrono then? It didn't last 10yrs, right? nt
10/19/2009 - 16:10
Your "boy" and you look so much alike, Mats!!!
10/18/2009 - 22:03
On the watch front, I concur with hewitgar. Out of the choices you presented here go for the Patrimony Date. But I know where your heart lies... You should really consider the American 1921. I saw the way you looked at it in Geneva. And I think the watched suited you very well... I know it doesn't make things any easier for you but hey a man's gotta do what a man's gotta do 
Mats, I have to agree with Radek
10/19/2009 - 11:51
For a man like you, one who doesn't follow trends or others, but rather follows his own way - the 1921 suits you much better in my honest opinion. BR, Dan
Radoslaw, I always thought my son was good looking,
10/19/2009 - 12:41
contrary to me! Yes I love the 1921, but I already have to Les Historiques, and in some way it's a new Les Historiques... But you are right in what I felt for it.. M
To follow up on Dan's comment above, I would say CR 1907 is also
10/19/2009 - 16:02
a match for you... Necessarily the LE with the red 12 on top. What do you say?
Dear Doc
10/19/2009 - 11:28

having you asking us for an opinion is an honor. Some time ago I was considering OS Dual time for my first VC watch and following your and Alex's guidance I decided and purchased the patrimony contemporaine manual winding in rose gold. I couldn't be happier. From the choises you gave us I believe this one would fit you best. However, in your case, I think that you already have much more interesting watches. You propably should go for something more special like the American 1921  or the Patrimony Traditionnelle chronograph Best regards your friend  George

No George,
10/19/2009 - 12:47
I find you have hit Bull's Eye! Exactly the one you bought, is probably what I will end up with. If you look at the pic when I tried the 1921, it's just to much watch, under my shirt sleeve... A Patrimony wouls slip in easier, the DTR is impossible together with buttons! Thank you for your opinion Doc
Doc you were also hungry for this one...
10/19/2009 - 13:24
Yes, Alex that's the one we talked about,
10/19/2009 - 14:33
but I missed the train, didn't I ?  Remeber when we were at VC in Paris looking for it I love it and you still rember it! No the Rolex I just couldn't stand, sold it after two or three months! No more Rolex in my life. One was enough. BTW, I heard from a very reliable source, you have the name in my personal email to you, that Rolex would survive 80 years from now, without producing one single watch It's not a watchmaking firm, it's Fort Knox II M
Do you still have your Rolex for an everyday kinnda watch? I have a
10/19/2009 - 13:20
preference for the Patrimony Contemporaine, either automatic or manual but in both cases without date as I don't like the apperture. Overseas is great as well but I'm not a huge fan of the guilloche dial so maybe you could consider the new stee/titanium model with the grey dial and add a bracelet.
it seems that you have made up your mind Doc
10/20/2009 - 00:49
But I am convinced that when VC decided to release the 1921, they were doing it especially for you... If you go for the Patrimony Contemporaine, I would say take the manual wind, the dial looks cleaner without a date. By the way, why would you not have bought the DTR if you had listened to people? I'm with Aaron, it is one VC's finests! And good to hear that the Doc is getting another new VC! Cheers, Francois
Dear Francois,
10/20/2009 - 18:11
I think as you, absolute clean, no date and manual. No, I wouldn't have bought the DTR because it'ds like the Girard-Perregaux, which I'm secretly in love with..both are to thick! They simply take to much room, and I felt that a little also with the 1921... OTH I still think the Patrimony should have been 38 mm.... but you can't get everything It's just the feeling of not having a watch on my wrist, I'm searching. Like this, I never feels it. BTW I'm wearing it right now Doc
Doc, if the goal is to "not feel the watch" on your wrist...
10/21/2009 - 04:36 might want to reconsider the 1921 vs. the PC. Both are 40mm, and at 8mm, the 1921 is only 1.3mm thicker than the PC... Food for thought? Re the DTR, all I can say is that I think you made a very good mistake by buying it Cheers, Francois