a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735

This is the firs watch (and only) I bought this year and litteraly it launched 2011 for my as I took possession of it in Jan 1st from a fellow Lounger and friend.

The ref 4735 was often refered to in auction catalogues as having ispired the case of the Mercator but I had never seen one until 2007 when this model appeared at auction.

This model is a potent mix of a large 38mm case, powerful lugs and an amazing guilloche dial.

ref 4735 was made in the 1950s in yellow and rose gold with different dials

a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735

a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735

a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735

This watch is quite impressive due to a rather thin case but massive downturned lugs

The dial is superbe it has a vertical guilloche in the center surrounded by a flower pattern. The outter part in "pie pan" shape with a horizontal guilloche

a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735

a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735

a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735


there are similarities with the Marcator case however the Mercator lugs are gentely rounded at the botton whereas the 4735 are straight.
a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735

a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735

a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735

VC also makes a reproduction of a vintage buckle and I put one on the strap

a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735

a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735

Re: a pictoral review of my latest arrival: the elusive 4735
04/19/2011 - 14:55
Amazing watch and great catch Alex! I love the lugs and dial. The case appears very thin. It must wear very comfortably. Your last scan shows off these attributes beautifully! Joe
Beautiful watch Alex!
04/19/2011 - 15:00
Thanks for sharing.
Such a beautiful watch...
04/19/2011 - 17:37
It was the reason I kept wanting to shake you hand in January , but I just couldn't get it off your wrist
Congratulations Alex !
04/19/2011 - 18:11
Another amazing dial, and so much personnality with this lugs ! Great Catch Francois
Beautiful piece Alex, congratulations! (nt)
04/19/2011 - 19:09
vc
Simply ELEGANT! Great start for 2011
04/19/2011 - 22:01
Wear it in good health ;-))) Nice comparison with Mercator's lugs. Cheers, liger
the vintage buckle is awesome and it beautifully complements the dial
04/19/2011 - 23:22
may it only time happy moments, Alex
There are watch cases and
04/20/2011 - 01:34
there are watch cases. Just lovely they are! Thanks ! Doc
Congratulations, Alex. May there be many more to come in 2011! (nt)
04/20/2011 - 07:31
"Old School" wrist appeal!
04/20/2011 - 09:36

As always, wear in good health. Miki

The complexity of the Guilloche patterns truly makes the dial work...
04/20/2011 - 12:16
a masterpiece!  Radial, curved and linear cuts for the guilloche, all done with a manually operated machine, It looks great in pictures, but seeing it in person is better yet.  Dean and I try to do a bump and shake, but we just couldn't get the watch off Alex's wrist without him noticing, I like the buckle, if I didn't love deployants, I'd get a couple of the vintage, remake, buckles myself. Now to something serious, its' 4:14 in the afternoon my time...looking and the "scallops" of the dial and thinking about lugs (which makes this foodie's mind wander toward the crab lugs on another beautiful VC that Alex has)...I'm getting really hungry!  BR, Dan
Beautiful dial work and a daring case - congrats!! nt
04/20/2011 - 16:12
nt
Another true beauty for your collection! May
04/21/2011 - 01:29
we see how the movement has been preserved? Thanks for sharing and making us all a little jealous...;0)..
a quick and dirty scan of movement
04/21/2011 - 11:06

nice one to start the year rolling ....
04/21/2011 - 14:39

it's great to collect the origin of the lugs for the mercator. i am very attracted to this case. the 38mm size is also very modern. great catch, alex.

Thanks Alex ;0)..
04/21/2011 - 23:23
e
You certainly know how to pick 'em!...
04/21/2011 - 22:52
Alex, I admire your taste and the interesting comparison. Good job you only shook hands with Dean once He obviously knows a good thing when he see's it. You'll enjoy it, I know you will. Tony
Exceptional Alex. Congratulations for it.
04/23/2011 - 11:13
Congratulations for this beautiful watch. Beautiful
This is a stunning piece. Congratulations! (nt)
04/24/2011 - 19:12
vc
Congrats Alex!
04/26/2011 - 07:37

Such quirky dial and lugs are quintessential mid-20th century Vacheron in my opinion. Wear it in good health! - SJX

Beautiful watch..
04/26/2011 - 20:12
very unusual dial, and a good size case. You wore it in the Maison on the last Geneva trip I made in January I think... it did look really good in the flesh. G