A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

Over the week end Munich was holding a watch fair called MunichTime and it was the perfect opportunity to gather the Bavarian community of Vacheronistas for an intimate dinner.

The exhibition and diner were held in the sublime Bayerischer Hof Hotel.

The guests had time to visit the exhibited pieces.

A view of the VC booth at the fair: The gentelman with the purple tie is Christian Selmoni Artistic Director and the other is Manfred Tokarksy head of sales for VC Germany
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

On the workbench a watchmaker was demonstrating the assembly of a cal 2460
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

We then moved to the private room where the dinner was to take place for some drinks then headed to the Cinema Lounge. In fact a private viewing room was reserved for the presentations:


comfortable seating area
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

popcorn and finger food
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5


The guests were ready for the show!
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

Christian Selmoni and yours truly made a presentation (followed by a heated and interesting discussion) on "2000-2010 The Decade that Changed Watchmaking" if Vincent Brun head of VC Germany had not made big signs with his hands the discussion would have gone until 2AM and no dinner!

A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5


I wouldn't miss the opportunity to talk about our LoungeA short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5


We did continue discussions at dinner, the gentelman with the magnificent moustache is Peter Braun the famous German watch journalist (those who read WatchTime have certainly read his articles)
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

the ever so elegant Oliver aka small luxury world
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

Francois aka Cisco one hell of a passionate WIS!
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

Vincent Brun the new head of VC Germany and Northern Europe
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

the menu with a VC touch and amazing winesA short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5


we each had a loupe to admire the watches that would be passed around
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5


There was a fine mix of of modern and pieces from the VC museum. I was too busy talking so I didn't take more photos of the watches but think that Oliver and Francois took some and hope they will post.

Chronometre Royal
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5


Triple Date Ciocolatone and the Patrimony Traditionnelle Automatic
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

The achingly beautifl Cal 2755 (QP, tourbillon and the best sounding minute repeater I have heard!)
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5


1.30AM time to wrap up and go home
A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5


It was a fantastic evening with passionate guests and superbly organised by the VC Germany team.

Thank you all and see you soon A short review of the Hour Lounge / VC dinner in Munich on Nov 5

11/08/2010 - 18:57
11/08/2010 - 20:17
11/08/2010 - 21:03
Doc
11/09/2010 - 10:47
Popcorn? LOL! Looked like a fun event and good to put a face on
11/08/2010 - 17:19
some of the Loungers
will you be organising others soon, including in the US?
11/08/2010 - 18:31
.
there will be more coming and hopfully the US in 2011. Next is Paris:-
11/09/2010 - 15:05
e
Thank you!
11/08/2010 - 18:57
That was a Fantastic evening! Thanks to Vacheron Constantin Germany, which did a great job organisation. Finally we met Alex, it was really nice to see you! And Oliver, I hope we will meet again in Munich. One word to describe this evening: honesty and passion. It is rare on such an event that so opened conversation can happen, that's a sign of a great company imho. The new watches since 10 years shows it, I think is one of the brand which really had a very good developpment these years. What a good moment I had when I could bother M.Selmoni, like a little boy in a candy shop. Took some photos too and they are pretty bad. Is it because of the lack of light or the charming smile of Stephanie? I can't tell... The movie was very interesting and collectors could share their point of view it was really interactive. I dropped a tear when announcing the "retirement" of the extra flat minute repeater with perpetual calendar. One of the most amazing watch ever cannot disappear  The vintage were great, the Tourbillon recased for Asprey and his salmon dial, killed me Some watches: The Ultra thin 1955  Ultra thin have become so rare these last years and Vacheron relaunch some. This one is perfect on the wrist, classy, and discreet but with a large dial which makes it look bigger than 36mm. Not small at all ! A friend even found it a bit big. I would love to see it with a more flashy black dial in rose gold, something a bit more "eye catching". The patrimony traditionelle The basis fo the VC collection Very well done, the proportions are perfect, the dial is fantastic and imho better than what other brands have on this type of watch. A friend choose the manual winding version and he tried several brand. Mr Selmoni was wearing this Malte Tourbillon I am not fond of tonneau watches (except maybe the Cartier Tortue) and even less for opened tourbillon on the dial. So this one was not my cup of tea, but the toubillon is really amazing, by his size by his finish.  Ultra thin 1968 THE surprise of the evening, in photo not really appealing, in real a killer. I found it more appealing than the 1955, very surprising. Very flat and straight, and a simple but catching brushed dial. A simple but super classy watch. And I was not the only one to appreciate it I think.  The white gold Patrimony chronograph is one of the best "product" in VC line. Sporty, classy with these amazing Patrimony dial. The QDI... my favourite
"It was a fantastic evening with passionate ..."
11/08/2010 - 19:01
"It was a fantastic evening with passionate guests and superbly organised by the VC Germany team. ... guests (& passionate hosts) and superbly organised by the VC Germany team." First of all: Thanks a lot for everything! No pictures from the private cinema, but I can tell you not only the Popcorn was gorgeous The menue of a great evening ... ... good food & wine + great people to share + lots of ... ... of course - watches  A greeting from the kitchen ... ... and the first course Some impressions from the group ... In between, some greetings from the factory Yummy Yummi, Yummi It does not look good on my wrist, but the golden caliber 1003 is gorgeous End of Part I
that Toledo looks amazing!
11/08/2010 - 19:06
.
Anyone know who designed the original Toledo? The case
11/08/2010 - 22:35
is wonderful, like nothing else I've seen. Looks like a fun evening over there in Munchen - great watches and conversation to match.
it was designed by the inhouse designers of VC in the 50s
11/09/2010 - 11:03
.
Part II ...
11/08/2010 - 20:17
The extra flat 1968 The watch grows on me and I think it looks very nice for boy´s with bigger wrists and for girls. Gyromax inside together with caliber 1120 While waiting for the main course, I was enjoying the buffet ... Yummy, isn´t it Used for the masks series and I would love to see it in a more simple watch ... with special indication ... The current Chronomètre movement ... A real chronometer with automatic is something that does not work - for me, to be honest. A few wheels, a couple of barrels, ... maybe a fusee. That´s it. VC and skeletons - pure beauty ... End of Part II
thanks for sharing Oliver, I agree that a Chronometer should be manual
11/09/2010 - 11:06
!
Part III ...
11/08/2010 - 21:03
23.40 and we didn´t even have the main course ... Who cares? Nobody, they talked about watches When my lamb arrived, it had to wait ... just because of this beauty ... Ref. 42042 - my favourite Overseas The grey dial with shades of brown. Very special details in design, but not flashy at all. Very discrete Malteser Cross ... outside only. Inside there is one more The movement came from GP, which is fine for me. As I wrote before: My favourite Overseas, because I am not a big fan of the fonts at the newer ones. My personal highlight/main course of that evening: Pocketwatch movement from 1942. VC Tourbillon Observatory - unfinished. Finished in the 90´s on request of Asprey. VC cased it and the gorgeous Kari Voutilainen worked on the movement. Since 2003 it belongs to the VC museum. A gorgeous piece and a hell of a watch Yes, there still is one course missing ... Full? Food: Yes Watches and talking about watches, with nice people: No ... Let me finish with ... ... the moon. In fact there are much more nice details, but the moon is just so nice and fits quite well. As it was LATE night when we left Once more, thanks to the generous hosts and the passionate attendees. Oliver
amazing watches, amazing evening and that PW tourbillon
11/08/2010 - 21:55
Is to die for!!!
amazing watches, amazing evening and that PW tourbillon
11/08/2010 - 21:56
Is to die for!!!
Thanks Oliver!
11/08/2010 - 22:12
Your post gives very well the atmosphere, watch nuts all around the table, enjoying this moment
I'm breathless! Thanks so much :-) nt
11/08/2010 - 23:14
nt
Wow! Superb watches...
11/10/2010 - 04:09
I like Tour de l'ile more and more. Gorgeous watch. Thanks for posting!
Oliver, thanks for your picutres and comments
11/10/2010 - 13:04
your pics are very nice and to read your post, is like I was there...
Looks like a great event! So many nice watches and movements! [nt]
11/09/2010 - 06:08
nt
How many were gone?
11/09/2010 - 10:47
Seeing all these fantastic watches spread around among the true aficionados from Germany, all the good food, and what you drank besides, I just wonder! It would be impossble, that not one of these fantastic beauties disappeared Love them all, but Oliver's old OS is true VacheronConstantin and the 'hidden Maleser Cross', I didn't know of! I also like the way the watch and bracelet shows it's been a true follower to it's owner! Alex, I guess the Ciacolatone is the one traded in for the Toledo on the dvd Congrats to all of you having such a nice party Cheers Doc
a fine evening of food, watches and friends: a perfect night. Thank
11/09/2010 - 11:22
you gentelmen for sharing this special moment
Looks like a marvelous time was had by all!
11/09/2010 - 11:43
I met Vincent Brun at the opening of the Shanghai Maison a couple of years ago, he was the Marketing Manager for Asia.  He is a very nice gentleman and credit to VC, congratulations to him and his role in Germany. Best Regards, Dan
Re: Looks like a marvelous time was had by all!
11/09/2010 - 16:34
I have come to a conclusion that good food and nice watches seem to have a positive effect on people... Thoroughly enjoyed the post.
Looked like an amazing night, thanks for sharing! (nt)
11/10/2010 - 16:29

.